公共计算| 教育

“这非常简单,用户友好,我认为这很好,因为当我度假时,我不必担心会有什么问题”

华沙社区公共图书馆(美国)

十年强大的公共计算。
十年前,位于印第安纳州华沙的华沙公共图书馆(WCPL)的公共计算机系统的唯一结果就是破碎的软件和IT问题。 在2004中,WCPL在引入Userful Desktop后,从令人头疼的个人电脑走向高效的计算系统。 十年后,WCPL又增加了四个Userful Desktop工作站,使24台站的用户能够为其用户提供服务,他们仍然享受简单而安全的Userful公共计算解决方案。
图片

在部署Userful Desktop之前,WCPL的网络管理员Tyson Barnett目睹了其社区的惊人增长以及由此导致印第安纳州华沙市民对计算机访问的需求增加。

WCPL在Microsoft Windows PC上进行了大量投资,以创建一个可靠的顾客公共计算机解决方案。 但是,泰森·巴内特(Tyson Barnett)也沉迷于技术挑战和Microsoft Windows PC病毒问题的频发,这些Windows PC并非旨在支持公共计算环境。

除了增加台式计算机之外,图书馆还雇用了更多人员来支持该技术并向图书馆成员提供服务。 不幸的是,由于试图使用Microsoft™Windows PC作为公用计算机而造成的困难变得难以控制。

Barnett解释说:“使用我们基于Windows的台式机,由于病毒,黑客入侵和其他问题,四台计算机在任何给定时间都将关闭。 现在,有了Userful Desktop工作站,我们不必浪费任何时间来维护它们,这真是太了不起了。”

Barnett首次被引入到Userful Desktop公共计算解决方案中,当他看到它在一次会议上展示时。 他立刻留下了深刻的印象。 Userful Desktop的关键优势在于该软件专为图书馆设计。 在图书馆中,公共计算机需要满足广泛的需求,确保隐私,并提供时间和打印管理等功能,这可能需要额外的软件集成。

就在会议演示中,Barnett发现Userful Desktop实际上可以轻松解决所有以前的计算问题,并创建增强的用户体验。 WCPL的计算机部署的初始部署包括五台工作站,它们运行四台台式计算机,共计20公共访问计算机。

Barnett说,无缝过渡到Userful Desktop。 顾客像鸭子到水一样采用了新系统,实际上没有问题。 我们的顾客喜欢它,并且效果很好。”



今天,Barnett继续对易用桌面为图书馆提供的易用性,客户满意度和成本节约感到非常满意。 WCPL的顾客使用虚拟化计算机执行各种功能,包括网上冲浪,搜索工作,创建工作申请和简历以及学术测试,所有这些功能都可以通过Userful Desktop轻松支持。

“我已经告诉其他图书馆,我向用户推荐了Userful Desktop,因为您不需要IT人员来管理系统,” Barnett说。 “这非常简单且用户友好。 我认为这很棒,因为当我休假时,我不必担心计算机出现任何问题。”

他还强调了安全的Linux操作系统的好处。

“我们可以告诉我们的顾客他们很安全,他们不必担心病毒。 这是一件大事,尤其是对于已经关注隐私的图书馆而言。 我们可以向顾客提供保证的事实是无价的,”他解释说。

WCPL在Userful Desktop方面的成功也极大地节省了硬件和软件支出。 Barnett说,自从在Userful Desktop上实施以来,仅电力和人员时间成本就已大大降低。

十年后,Userful Desktop公共计算解决方案继续为华沙公共图书馆及其顾客提供适当的公共计算机访问权限,并计划支持该图书馆未来几年的持续增长。

要闻速览
Userful Desktop包含40多种语言的30多个应用程序。 用户可以上网,赶上工作,刻录CD或只是玩游戏。 视力障碍者甚至可以选择大字体。 Userful Desktop还可以节省金钱和环境

总拥有成本


硬件,电力和支持成本在一年内平均节省了80%,降低了总体拥有成本。

节电


节省了6,025.2 KWh的电力。

CO₂节省


节省了1 / 2吨的二氧化碳,相当于种植了1英亩的树木。

增加获得技术的机会


Userful Desktop软件通过中央计算机创建多个高性能桌面工作站和其他数字显示器。

“我们可以告诉我们的顾客他们是安全的,他们不必担心病毒,我们可以向我们的顾客提供这种担保是非常宝贵的”

Public Computing | Education

"It's very easy and user-friendly. I think it's great because when I go on vacation, I don't have to worry about there being any issues"

Warsaw Community Public Library (USA)

Ten years of powerful public computing.
Ten years ago, broken software and IT issues were the only results of the public computer system at the Warsaw Public Library (WCPL), located in Warsaw, Indiana. In 2004, the WCPL went from headache-inducing PCs to an efficient computing system when they were introduced to Userful Desktop. A decade later, the WCPL has added four more Userful Desktop workstations to make a total of 24 stations to serve its patrons, who are still enjoying the simple and secure Userful public computing solution.
Image

Before deploying Userful Desktop, Network Administrator at the WCPL, Tyson Barnett, witnessed phenomenal growth in his community and the resulting increase in demand for computer access for the citizens of Warsaw, Indiana.

The WCPL had made a significant investment in Microsoft™ Windows PCs to create a reliable public computer solution for patrons. However, Tyson Barnett was also immersed in the growing frequency of technical challenges and virus problems of Microsoft™ Windows PCs that were not designed to support a public computing environment.

In addition to adding more desktop computers, the library hired additional staff to support the technology and provide services to library members. Unfortunately, the difficulties created by trying to use Microsoft™ Windows PCs as public computers were becoming unmanageable.

Barnett explained, “With our Windows-based desktops, four of the computers would be down at any given time because of viruses, hacking, and other problems. Now, with the Userful Desktop stations, we don’t have to waste any down time on maintaining them, which is phenomenal.”

Barnett was first introduced to the Userful Desktop public computing solution when he saw it demonstrated at a conference. He was instantly impressed. The crucial advantage with Userful Desktop was that the software was designed specifically for libraries. In libraries, public computers need to accommodate a wide range of needs, ensure privacy, and offer features like time and print management, which can require additional software integration.

Just from the conference demonstration, Barnett found that Userful Desktop would actually resolve all of the prior computing issues with ease, and create an enhanced user experience. The initial rollout of the computer deployment for the WCPL included five workstations, which operated four desktop computers, making a total of 20 public access computers.

Barnett said that transition to Userful Desktop was seamless. “Patrons took to the new system like ducks to water, there were virtually no problems. Our patrons love it, and it works great.”

Warsaw Computers And Patrons

Today, Barnett continues to be extremely pleased with the ease-of-use, customer satisfaction, and cost-savings that Userful Desktop has provided for the library. Patrons at the WCPL use the virtualized computers for a variety of functions including surfing the web, searching for jobs, creating job applications and resumes, and academic testing, all of which are easily supported by Userful Desktop.

“I’ve told other libraries that I have recommended Userful Desktop to that you don’t need IT staff to manage the system,” Barnett said. “It’s very easy and user-friendly. I think it’s great because when I go on vacation, I don’t have to worry about there being any issues with the computers.”

He also emphasized the benefits of the secure Linux operating system.

“We can tell our patrons that they are safe, and they don’t have to worry about viruses. That is a huge thing, especially with libraries, which are already concerned about privacy. The fact that we can give our patrons that guarantee is invaluable,” he explained.

Substantial savings in hardware and software expenditures also play a large part in the WCPL’s success with Userful Desktop. Barnett said that the electricity and staff time costs alone have been immensely reduced since the implementation on Userful Desktop.

Ten years later, the Userful Desktop public computing solution continues to provide the Warsaw Public Library and its patrons with proper public computer access and plans to support the library’s continued growth for years to come.

Quick Facts
Userful Desktop includes over 40 applications in 30+ languages. Users can surf the web, catch up on work, burn CDs, or just play games. There’s even a large-print option for those with vision impairment. Userful Desktop also saves money and the environment

Total Cost of Ownership


Saved an average of 80% in hardware, electricity and support costs over one year, lowering total cost of ownership.

Electricity Savings


Saved 6,025.2 KWh of electricity.

CO₂ Savings


1/2 ton of CO₂ was saved, equal to planting 1 acre of trees.

Increased Access to Technology


Userful Desktop software creates multiple high performance desktop stations, and other digital displays, from a central computer.

"We can tell our patrons that they are safe, and they don't have to worry about viruses. The fact that we can give our patrons that guarantee is invaluable"